And so I walk. . .

Another year gone by, I’m still me.
Nothing much has changed in my world.
The same ache is in my heart, maybe stronger now.
And I’m stumbling through each day, ignoring it.

I walk these beautiful trails, just nature, deer, and myself.
I breath in clean, crisp, fresh autumn air.
I hold back my tears and swallow the lump in my throat.

Walking slowly, focused and in control.
I walk the path staring straight ahead.
I can’t let myself look back anymore.
I stop to enjoy the river, the rabbits, and the cold breeze.

The breeze cleanses my soul,
here in this quiet amazing place I am calm.
I may not be happy with where I’ve been,
or even who I am.
I may not know where I’m going,
but I let the trail lead me for a change.

For a few hours, a night here and there,
I say goodbye world.
I hide among the preserve,
hoping to be as cherished as this place someday by someone special.

Leave a Reply

