Unrequited

Under the dark ominous sky, I quietly rest.

Next to me is nothing but the stillness of the land.

Rain starts to trickle down upon me

Eerily darker grows the sky.

Quickly I run for shelter, now soaked by the rain.

Utter despair at the broken concentration

I was lost in a world all my own, focused and free.

Time was standing still as I collected my thoughts.

Everything should be so simple sometimes.

Despite my efforts, I am returned to a very real crazy world.

Love seems to escape me, never quite in my grasp.

Over and over again my heart beats alone

Violently it plays a mating call, unheard.

Ever falls the rain as I realize my latest chance has passed.

Leave a Reply

