The waiting game

I’ve never been a very patient person.

Waiting is truly a challenge for me,

especially something so important

where I’ve invested so much indeed!

The clock ticks ever so slowly,

Yet I watch it more and more.

My heart beats heavily,

As the waiting takes its toll.

I worry while I wait,

No amount of pacing calms me down.

My stomach is tied in knots;

It seems no relief can be found.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

Another hour passes now.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

Unbundle my nerves somehow.

Waiting seems so very unfair,

no end in sight to my state.

There is nothing that can be done.

I have no choice; I have to wait!

With this adrenalin rush,

I could run several miles in a race.

Heck I could lose ten pounds,

If the waiting game keeps this pace.

I’m truly trying to take deep breaths,

put all worry to the side.

Into God’s hands I pray,

anything to make this fear subside.

The true fix is a simple one,

just break me from this pain

end the incessant waiting time,

and bring answers all the same.

But the waiting still does not cease,

and the clock seems to barely move,

laughing at me with every stroke.

What is time out to prove?

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

I’m still here waiting.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

My patience, she’s fading.

Leave a Reply

